Adaptive Sports Abuse Prevention

ABOUT ASAP

People with disabilities are more likely to experience sexual violence, yet athletes with disabilities are too often left out of the conversation about sport and prevention.

Adaptive Sports Abuse Prevention (ASAP) is one of the few curricula designed specifically for coaches, trainers, volunteers and leaders of programs that work with athletes with disabilities. This conference will equip participants to teach the 5-session curriculum within their organizations.

Through interactive exercises and analysis of news stories, participants learn to:

  • Recognize abuse and sexual misconduct
  • Interrupt unsafe or inappropriate interactions that could escalate to abuse
  • Think critically and productively about safe touch and healthy relationships
  • Report sexual abuse and collaborate with a local rape crisis center

The goal of preventing sexual abuse is clear, but the reality of how to achieve it is far more complex. ASAP will give you the skills to facilitate critical conversations and develop needed skills to help ensure that every athlete in your program is safe.

Our next conference and training will be in Colorado Springs, CO. Details coming soon.

 

FOR MORE INFO: Contact Shay Orent, Training Manager IMPACT Boston, sorent@impactboston.org

Certified ASAP Trainers:

Arizona 

Brielle Carter
Ability360 Sports & Fitness Center
briellec@ability360.org, (602) 626-7250

Eduardo Aguirre
Southern Arizona Adaptive Sports
aguirre.edu@gmail.com

California

Jaculin Peterson
Veterans Mobility Project/Warrior Veterans Adaptive Sports Club
jackieusn@gmail.com

Daniel (DJ) Horner
United States Adaptive Recreation Center
DJ@usarc.org, (909)-584-0269

Emily Hammond
United States Adaptive Recreation Center
emily@usarc.org, (909)-584-0269

Colorado

Chris Werhane
Adaptive Adventures
chris@AdaptiveAdventures.org, (505) 690-9103

Kayla Berry
We Are Safer Together LLC
wearesafertogether.com
wearesafertogether@gmail.com, (720) 445-5778

Krista Hanley
We Are Safer Together LLC
wearesafertogether.com
wearesafertogether@gmail.com, (720) 445-5778

Angela Hemmen
Wounded Warrior Project
ahemmen@woundedwarriorproject.org

Randa Osman
Wounded Warrior Project
rosman@woundedwarriorproject.org

Lacey Staehs
United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee

Samantha Bauer
USA Archery

 

Florida

Nan Prevost
Remember Me NFP
(727) 688-4544

Illinois

Breanna Bertacchi
Out Our Front Door
breanna@oofd.org

Maryland

Ryan Semke
Move United
rsemke@moveunitedsport.org

Nevada

Ed Price
Trail Access Project
ed@trailaccessproject.org

New Hampshire

Crystal Shakan
Northeast Passage: University of NH
crystal.skahan@unh.edu

 

New Jersey

Mark Bogosian
Christopher & Dana Reeve Foundation
mbogosian@christopherreeve.org

Kyle Marrs
Christopher & Dana Reeve Foundation

New York

Jennifer O’Brien
American Special Hockey Association
ASHA@specialhockey.org

Danielle Yacko
Endeavor Therapeutic Horsemanship
danielle.yacko@endeavorth.org, (914) 241-0211

Pennsylvania

Kati Brennan
Philadelphia City Rowing
kati.brennan@gmail.com, (917) 361-9799

Texas

Kelli Croll
Cerebral Palsy Awareness Transition Hope (CPATH)
kelli@cpathtexas.org

Victoria Polega
Cerebral Palsy Awareness Transition Hope (CPATH)
victoria@cpathtexas.org

 

 

Virginia

Amy Smith
Sportable
amy@sportable.org

Hannah Smith
Sportable
hannah@sportable.org

Mary-Parker White
Sportable
maryparkerbw@gmail.com

Michelle Page
Sportable
michelle@sportable.org

Casey Cook
Sportable
casey@sportable.org

Mandy Marchiano
Sportable
mdmarchiano@aol.com

Laura Bennett
Sportable
laura@sportable.org

Keagan Angevin
Sportable
keagan@sportable.org

Ashley Keesler-Young
Sportable
ashley.keesler@gmail.com

David Robbins
Sportable
david@sportable.org

Abbie Wright
Sportable
abbie@sportable.org

Brandon Rush
Sportable
brushod@gmail.com

Maria Altonen
VA Department of Health
maria.altonen@vdh.virginia.gov

Shep Roeper
Beyond Boundaries
shep@beyondboundariesrva.org

Katie McIernan
Beyond Boundaries
katie@beyondboundariesrva.org

Kate Mardigian 
Jacob’s Chance
kmardigian@jacobschance.org

Brooke Hsieh 
Jacob’s Chance
bhsieh@jacobschance.org

Diane Gallegos 
The Arc of Hanover
diane@thearcofhanover.org

Sherri Lynn Lanning 
The Arc of Hanover
sherri@thearcofhanover.org

 

Wisconsin

Samantha Gracz
Clement J. Zablocki VA Medical Center
sam@wasa.org, (414) 430-6543